Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | October 21, 2010

Learning to Drive, a Right of Passage

I cannot believe the time has come for my oldest boy to get his driver’s license. Although his 17th birthday is still a couple of months away, the time is fast approaching as is the mixed feelings about it in my heart. Naturally, I am nervous about him being able to get behind the wheel without me. On the other hand, it is a right of passage and one that he is entitled to. His driving may actually make my life a bit easier–run errands, pick up and drop off his two younger brothers, etc.

But this stage of his life is bigger than just that. It marks a point when he substantially less reliant upon me. He is mobile, he is independent. He has wheels and all that that comes with. Friends, girls, late nights. I must allow it and trust him to be mature and responsible about his newfound freedom. The thought of staying up at night knowing he is out with a car doing God knows what scares me. Only now can I fully appreciate how much my own parents suffered when I began to drive.

But I put a lot of faith in him and now, at least for the next couple of months, I can sit back and enjoy the time we share going through car circulars and the internet searching for just the right car.

Ofer Aronskind is a single dad of teenage boys and is the author of multiple adventure books for kids.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

