Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | January 7, 2011

My Winter Break

Just took my boys away for the winter break. It was nice to have them all to myself for an entire week without interruptions from their cell phones and facebook and texts and IM’s and all the other distractions in their lives. You need to reconnect every now and then and that’s what this trip did more than anything else. It’s been a little while since we’ve been away and the thing I noticed most this time around was just how mature they’ve become. I can
begin to see the little boy in each of them begin to disappear and in its place a young man is beginning to take shape.

Me and my boys

Me and my boys

No longer are they happy doing what I suggest. Now it’s four men with four opinions on what they want to do and where they want to go and where to eat and what time to get up and so on. In some ways its more difficult to travel but in other ways I feel like they are slowly becoming my friends more than just kids I need to safeguard. We played tennis, went swimming and snorkeling together, parasailing, staying up to all hours of the night, eating lobster dinners and watching movies with R ratings. Gone are the babysitting days. And although it’s bittersweet there is also much pleasure in watching your little boys growing into fine young men. Men that I can hang with for the rest of my life and maybe just maybe if I’ve done my job right…might just take care of me a little in my old age.

Ofer Aronskind is an author of adventure books for kids and is a single dad of 3 teenage boys.

Responses

  1. Hey Ofer this is absolutely adorable. You have a very handsome family. Lots of love and happiness in the picture. So good… Your best post ever!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

