Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | January 31, 2011

Sledding With My Dog

With all that snow I thought: wouldn’t it be great to take my kids sledding. I mean, it’s not every day we get two feet of snow dropped on us. My oldest guy wanted nothing to do with the idea. He just got his drivers license and naturally, the only thing on his mind was the car keys. I then approached the next two — fourteen year old twins. Since it was a snow day, they slept in till past one in the afternoon. By the time they were up and ate and dressed it was practically dark out again.

The only one who took me up on my offer was my dog, Sammy. One swing of the leash she was already in the car and ready to go. We headed toward the reservation behind Old Short Hills Park. Two enormous hills full of kids sledding greeted us. Sammy took off like a kid in a candy store. She chased kids, played with other dogs and left me in her dust. I took in my surroundings watching the kids taking turns sledding down the hills. It wasn’t that long ago that my kids were here. The difference just a couple of years make.

Ofer Aronskind is the author of adventure books for teens

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

