Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | April 19, 2011

Talk at an Elementary School

I was speaking to a group of 3rd, 4th and 5th graders at an elementary school the other day. I read a couple of excerpts from my books then went on to talk about writing in general. What kind of books I enjoyed reading when I was young, what inspired me to write and so on. I then turned the lecture over to the kids and allowed them to ask questions. And boy what questions they asked. I forgot just how enthusiastic younger kids can be. How genuine and unjaded they are. My boys being teenagers already, I’ve gotten used to their cutting attitudes, their cynical manner, their “I’m too cool to do anything” demeanor.

These nine and ten year-olds were excited to meet an author. They were thrilled to ask me questions and they listened attentively as I answered them. If only I could bottle that unbridled enthusiasm, bring it home and let my lazy, sleep-till-noon, sardonic teenagers take a sip from that bottle.

My name is Ofer Aronskind; I am the author of kids adventure books. If you wold like to interview me or have me speak at your school or library please contact me by leaving a comment on this blog and I will get back to you. Comments that contain personal information will not be posted.

Responses

  1. Hi Ofer!!
    I hope everythung is great for you and your family!.
    Every time I get you articles I share them with a couple of friends. My brother , who runs my Mom’s school, is very interested if you would come to Mexico and speakour school and library. My e mail is norma@disenohagerman.com
    A big hug for you!
    Norma

  2. wow such a SUPER DAD! cool blog! :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

