Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | July 29, 2011

When Do Kids Grow Up?

When is the actual point when you as a father are no longer the center of your son’s universe? Age 13? 15? 18? It seems it was just a short time ago when my sons would eagerly await an evening out –dinner and a movie, go mini-golfing, bowling, something. Now its more like “Dad, I’m going out…can I have some money?” I am left to my own devices; alone to make my own plans. My sister’s kids are much younger and I see them still following my sister around like little ducklings. I try to think back when this streak of independence actually took hold in my boys. When it became “uncool” to be caught at the movies with your old man. But it did and its the normal progression of things. I guess I’d be more concerned if at ages 15 and 17 they still wanted to hang with me on a Saturday night.

The flip side is that we still live in the same house (not for long–college is around the corner), we still eat our meals together, we watch TV and laugh and talk, we have our dogs and there’s a whole lot of noise and energy in the house. And I’m thankful for each and every day.

Ofer Aronskind is the author of adventure books for teens.

Responses

  1. This made me tear up a little bit. Thinking of my 2 year old little boy eventually thinking it uncool to be with me. I don’t think I’m going to make a very good empty nester. I hope our home is as full of life then as yours seems to be.

    • Diana,
      It is natural to feel like this when your kids are very young, but as they mature things will change and even though you will miss them you will want to see them go out on their own.

  2. I appreciate the article. My daughert is only 5 months, and while I look forward to her growing up, I also know that the moment I feel I am no longer the center of her world will be a rough day. I recently posted an article saluting the single parents of the world and dedicated it to my co-workers, past and present, that have the struggles of single-parenthood. love to know your thoughts. http://middleclasskeith.blogspot.com/2011/08/single-parenti-cant-imagine.html

  3. hmm. nice post. it is a regular scene in every family but yet, we don’t think about this much. we even don’t know when our little kids get grown up and feel uncomfortable with the parents. i strongly believe that, the parents should be more careful on kids. they should be friendly with them. don’t want to be just a part of his universe. better share it.

    • Yes, but part of being a good parent is not wanting to let go…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

