Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | May 23, 2009

Are We Parenting or Just Chauffeurs?

I may have a selective memory but I just don’t remember my parents ever driving me anywhere when I was a kid. Oh, I mean, sure we got rides to school and relatives’ houses and that sort of thing. But as far as I can remember, I never got rides from soccer to baseball to karate and then over to piano or guitar lessons. I mean seriously, what did we do? How did we get around? Did we actually do anything? The best I recall, we came home, had a pop tart or something then ran to the dead end and played stickball or roller hockey. Parents were not heard from until dinner time and then it was only to yell at us. I have zero recollection of ever being driven to a practice or a friend’s house. If I asked for a ride I’d be told to take my bike.

“But Mom, Bobby lives off the LIE….I can’t take my bike on the highway!”

“Then visit a friend that lives closer.”

“But Mom, everybody’s going to Bobby’s house.”

“Then get a ride from someone’s parent.”

“That’s what I’m doing, Mom.”

“Don’t be a smartass!”

So there I was on the service road of the Long Island Expressway signaling for a left hand turn on my Huffy banana seat bike.

Would love to reminisce about my ride-deprived childhood but I have to go because my kids are in the car yelling for me to hurry. One has to be at soccer practice, one is going to a friend’s house and the third needs to go to Staples for supplies.

Leave a Reply

Categories

