Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | June 11, 2009

Computer Problems

Nowadays, all my kids do is stare into their Apple laptops. Homework, games, emailing, IMing, facebooking, myspaceing, you name it and they’re doing it on their laptops. So when our main computer crashed the other day and the wifi went with it, it was sheer pandemonium in our house. The kids looked up from their monitors with a look of bewilderment.

“Dad…what’s going on?”

“I don’t know,” I replied, “let me look into it.”

I fumbled around a bit unplugging electric cords then plugging them back in. I turned off the computer then turned it back on. I just made a lot of noise without getting anywhere.

“Dad…..”

“I’m trying, I’m trying.”

I called up a friend who tried to trouble shoot with me over the phone. Nothing. Then I called our cable provider and they did the same but without any success. In the end, I was able to get an appointment with a technician for the day after next.

“Dad, you’re kidding right?”

“It’s the best I could do.”

“And what are we supposed to do until then?”

“I don’t know,” I replied, “let’s watch a movie.”

“That would be great,” my oldest boy said, “but we do that … ON THE COMPUTER!!!”

“Okay, let’s play a game,” I suggested.

“Dad…that’s also on the computer,” the next one in line informed me.

“You guys done with your homework?” I asked.

The youngest just looked at me like I was an idiot.

“I get it, I get it….the computer.”

The next I got back on the phone with the cable company and begged and pleaded for an earlier appointment.

Leave a Reply

Categories

