Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | June 22, 2009

Thoughts on fathers day from a real dad

As a father of three, I believe I’ve earned the right to say I CANNOT STAND THESE COMMERCIALS AIMED AT DADS!!!!!!!!!! Do we really want a Home Depot gift card for Father’s Day? Come on. Is being a dad as simple as being reduced to a golf shirt or another brainless beer commercial targeted at me. Is that what’s become of the great American dad?? Commercials where the husband is scared of his wife or is a bumbling idiot to his ultra cool kids. Commercials where dad just sits on the couch and watches TV and drinks beer and eats and watches his gut grow. Or, there’s always the good old faithful barbeque grill that dad must have and all the paraphernelia and accessories and marinades and sauces that go with it. Because dad loves to grill while he holds his beer and talks sports with his overweight buddies and laughs like a buffoon and belches like a pig. Hey, let’s get good old dad a football jersey (size XXXL) from his favorite team so he can suit up and pretend he’s playing for the Jets while he sprawls out on the couch to watch the game with a beer in one hand and a bag of chips in the other. Am I making myself clear? I do not like the image conveyed of the American Dad.

So when my boys asked me what I wanted for Father’s Day, the answer was easy. Kids, you see all that garbage bieng marketed to fat, dumpy, moronic, scared-of-his-wife, beer guzzling, snack gorging, gut overhanging, sweating-while-he’s-grilling TV dad….I DON’T WANT ANY OF THAT!!!!!!!!!! What I do want is some degree of decency, and a certain level of respect, and a manner of speaking and behaving that involves good manners and a gift that will be unique and memorable and have required some thought and originality (NOT a run to the mall for the Father’s Day advertised special). That was the task I set them on.

What I got on Father’s Day was just that. My boys rose to the task. They prepared an awesome meal, rented a great movie and handed me a DVD that they had filmed, edited, written, starred in and fine tuned with music overlay, credits, the works on iMovie.

Hey dads, just ask. Trust me, the kids will respond.

Leave a Reply

Categories

