Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | July 8, 2009

Hey Kids! It’s summer!

With the kids out of school but not yet away at camp, I find myself in a role I haven’t played in a while — the role of camp counselor.  Every morning, as soon as each of them get up, I receive a call with instructions on what they need to buy, where they need to go and so on.  I have been functioning as a chauffeur/ATM machine for the past few days and do not see any light at the end of the tunnel.  Three boys, a dozen group of friends, a minimum of three square meals a day each and conflicting schedules heading out in all different directions.  And then there’s me.  One dad, one car (yes, with eight seats) and still trying to get some work done.

What happened to the summer days of kids grabbing a five dollar bill from the cookie jar and disappearing for the entire day?  What happened to their independent spirit and sense of self-sufficient adventure? These were the thoughts that prompted me to write Escape from Sunday School, where a bunch of kids just cut out of school and take off.  No parents, no permission, nothing.  Naturally, my kids read the book.  But did they get the hint?  That I’m not so sure about.

Maybe the next book needs to be a little clearer.  Something like “Hey Kids, It’s Summer…Disappear!!”

Responses

  1. I so identify with the feeling that kids are overprogrammed and unable to figure out what to do unless somebody sets up the schedule for them. This is a problem with my middle kid, in particular. I’ll go find your book…

    Nice to find your blog.

  2. I am going to have to go read the book. I am wondering though, do they get to see the adventure with their dad they should be having?

    Many parents are too involved with their work. I am glad at least they have for their chauffeur 🙂

  3. kids nowadays I think are programmed to want to feel protected http://www.mykidscan.co.uk/games-for-kids


Leave a Reply

Categories

