Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | September 22, 2009

Sunday night dinner

Growing up, I used to think it odd that on Sunday nights my mom made us fend for our own dinners.

“I cooked all week,” she used to say, “fridge is full…you’re on your own.”

In time, I began to accept that as the norm. At least, the norm at my house. What I soon learned, however, is that maybe our family wasn’t that strange after all. If I found myself over a friend’s house on a Sunday, I began to notice that they too treated a Sunday night dinner as something of a second class citizen. Leftovers were brought out, pizza delivery, Chinese take-out. When I went away to college, it was the same thing. Every other night of the week had its own set menu except for Sunday night. The cafeteria that night just kind of threw together whatever was leftover and served it up. Everyone at school knew better than to even bother going down for dinner and instead ordered out.

Now, years later, I am all grown up with three boys of my own. I’m an okay cook and manage to throw something on the dinner table most nights but guess what…I’m off on Sunday night. Woops…gotta go…the pizza guy is at the door.

Responses

  1. How does the old saying go? “when we are kids we do childish things, when we are adults…”?

  2. Very glad to hear that I’m not the only one that does this

  3. The most important thing is that you sit down and eat with your kids!

  4. hmm… what a novel idea, I think I’m going to follow your example

  5. This is exactly what my mother did when I was young too!

  6. I wonder how your kids feel about this…?

  7. I am in complete agreement with you on this as well

  8. This is a great idea! I will follow your advice on this as well.

  9. That is such a great idea!

  10. That sounds like a wonderful idea as well

  11. I still try to make it our “Special” dinner.
    And sometimes ordering Pizza is what can make it special!


Leave a Reply

Categories

