Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | November 15, 2009

So my kids hate Sunday school… now what?

I find that when my kids say they hate school they really don’t mean it. Yes, they may dislike tests and studying and really, come on, who likes to do homework. But deep down, I think they actually enjoy school. But when it comes to Sunday school and they say they hate it, I actually believe them. The list of their excuses for not going could fill an entire notebook. I’m sick, I’m tired, I hate it, I hate my teacher, the stuff is useless, we’re not even religious, it’s too early in the morning, it’s my weekend, you hated it, you didn’t go, how’s it gonna help me in life, etc. etc. etc. And you know what? I’d say most of their excuses are valid.

So why is it that we make our children go? I don’t know. To carry on our heritage? I guess to some degree. But it just seems like one of those things we do so we can say we did it and let the next generation worry about doing the same. It has no useful application in the real world, it just exists and you attend and you make your kids attend and you sit back and wonder which generation will be strong enough to say STOP!!! enough is enough.

Responses

  1. Let’s see… you don’t particularly subscribe to the religious beliefs espoused at Sunday school… your kids don’t particularly enjoy Sunday school… why is this even an issue again?

    My wife brings the kids to Sunday school to indoctrinate them in the culture in which she grew up (Catholic), which I happen to feel is unhealthy and a bad idea, but does not particularly subscribe to the religious tenets of the Catholic faith per se. Quite frankly, I don’t see the point of perpetuating a sick culture, but there you go.

    (A sick culture? Yes. Any culture that has to put on blinders and selectively choose, “Well, I agree with that, but not that, and some of that other I could take or leave….” I could go on and on….)

    If my wife wants our kids to understand the common language of her (their) heritage, she is welcome to introduce them as she sees fit. They make an outing of it, and nobody has complained *too* loudly. I will likewise be gently introducing them to concepts of critical thinking as time and circumstances make appropriate.

    Your mileage may vary, but as another commenter has noted (and even though that person is a believer, I have to agree): time you spend with your kids enjoying and being good to each other is more important than the notion that it must be spent at a church.

    You asked. You’ve had a believer and a non-believer offer opinions. I’m sure there are other opinions out there, as well….

  2. As a prior Sunday-schooler myself, I can say that it was helpful. But I don’t know that this is true for everyone? I’m not Jewish, I’m Christian, but there were definitely many a day I 100% did not want to go and drove my family crazy. As long as I lived in their home it was the rule to go, which was good I think. They lived it and loved it too…so it was just me being selfish and wanting to sleep in. :’D

    Some are not like this though…i know my beliefs are the core of who I am…or make me who I am. 🙂 But if it is simply ‘tradition’…you are very right…why go? if it is not something you want to guide your life by…it’s a good question to ask. Because in some ways it is a double standard. 🙂 I”m not trying to be critical or rude when saying that, but I think it is a good question to ask yourself. 🙂 Why DO i do the things i do???

    🙂 Good luck!!!

    • Jasanna,
      Thank you for your unput.
      Unfortunatly I cannot answer the question, “why do we do the things we do…?” but perhaps one of this blogs’ more wise readers would care to post an answer…


Leave a Reply

Categories

