Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | December 11, 2009

The never ending battle over what to watch on TV

I’ve been arguing with my kids for a long time about what we watch on TV after dinner. I like to watch the news, and of course, they prefer “Family Guy” or “South Park”, “The Office” or even “Seinfeld” reruns. For them, anything but the boring news. No matter how much I tell them that the news is interesting, its always current on things happening all around them, no reruns (thus its news), they still prefer anything else over it. Except, I noticed a change lately. Suddenly, certain stories have caught their attention. Tiger Woods, the White House party crashers, the Chris Brown/Rihana thing, the David Letterman blackmailing. Look, I don’t wish bad upon anybody…but these stories are doing wonders for my TV news viewing. Hey—newsflash!–my kids are actually putting on the evening news.
Here’s the kicker, I’m getting yelled at and lectured when I want to watch an “Entourage” rerun.

Responses

  1. When I was in grad school, pursuing a PhD in Political Science (International Relations was my field), I burned out, and burned out bad. It was so bad, that for years, I couldn’t pick up a newspaper. And I used to be a reporter!

    As I recovered, and started reading / watching / listening to the news again, I came to a realization: it actually is all repeats. It’s. All. Repeats.

    YMMV, of course. 🙂

  2. I know what you mean. My youngest daughter, 17, was the same way. Now, she’s the one running downstairs telling me to put the TV on because there’s some news that I should hear about.


Leave a Reply

Categories

