Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | April 16, 2010

Reunited with a camp friend on Facebook

An old camp friend just reached out to me on facebook. I knew this person maybe 35 years ago when I was 12. I could still see the young girl that I once knew in this woman’s face. Naturally, it seems as if so much time has gone by and yet 35 years is really just a blip on the radar. During that span of time, whole chapters have gone by in our respective lives. the high school years, college, grad school, careers, marriage and children. We went from kids to adults and then some. And yet, my old friend’s face is still frozen in my mind at age 12. Running on the sports fields, eating in the camp dining hall, a memory of a botched raid, getting dressed up for the banquet. How easy and simple those childhood days were. Innocent and worry-free. I can see the years on my own face highlighted in the mirror. The stresses and tensions and demands etching themselves on my forehead and under my eyes. I nostalgically hark back to my camp days…to my 12 year-old self and try really hard to find him again. But thank God for the magic of facebook to take you back again, if only for a short moment with an old friend.

Leave a Reply

Categories

