Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | June 7, 2010

Parenting tips for adults

I’ve recently begun enlisting my children’s help in doing the NY Times crossword. Mondays and Tuesdays have become a family matter. Weds and on is out of our league. My kids also watch the TV news on a regular basis and have been for years. I don’t shelter my kids from what goes on around the world. I take the opposite approach. I prefer to expose them to the ways of the world — good and bad, sad and happy. The other day my son informed me that he was the only one who had something to contribute in his science class when they were discussing the oil spill in the gulf.

I’ve always spoken to my kids, ever since they were very little, in an adult manner with an adult vocabulary. I hate when parents speak down to their kids. The word “silly” is my most hated word in the English language. Moms sitting around cafes and at the park saying to their young ones: “you’re so silly” “whose so silly” “you silly”. If I hear one more silly I will throw up on that mom. Talk up to your kid not down. Let them come up to your level.

Responses

  1. Wow!….kudos to you for such an exquisite thought and parenting style. Couldn’t agree more with you on the fact that we have to talk up to our child…..that’s one way we can relate better to him and honor his thoughts and emotions. There’s no ego or harm in saying sorry to a 3 year old when you feel that’s what the situation calls for. You may like to visit and share your expert thoughts on my post(Honor your Children). It shall be great to hear another parent’s perspective.
    Thanks for sharing your wonderful thoughts.
    Barkha Dhar
    dharbarkha.blogspot.com/

  2. Great dad
    I like your opinion how to react and understand our children in the teen age.

    Thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

