Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | August 16, 2010

Father Son Bonding

I just did a college road trip with my oldest son through New England. We explored about a dozen schools, covered much ground and bonded over the course of five days. We toured schools, ate good food and really enjoyed some quality father/son one-on-one time. It was a special trip; one that I know I won’t forget and one that I hope he looks back on fondly one day. We sat in the car and covered hundreds of miles. And while the radio played and we messed around with a few crosswords, we also managed to cover topics that normally elude us in the ordinary course of household life. It wasn’t just what school would you like to attend but it was more along the lines of where do you want your studies to take you? What kind of job? Where would you like to live? What kind of woman would you like to marry? Kids? How many?

Of course my son had no answers for any of these questions. Who could at age 16? But the questions open up topics and the topics encourage conversation. And as the miles slipped by we talked. We talked from New Haven to Providence and from Newport to Boston and right on through the Berkshires. With the windows open and the wind blowing fresh country air through our car, we enjoyed the scenic beauty outside as we made our way through the New England countryside. And with each mile passing under our wheels and with each sentence passed between us, I could feel my son inching ever closer toward adulthood. Toward a time when a trip like this would no longer be possible — and that made it all that much more prescious.

Responses

  1. That’s so sweet! My father used to treat me ice cream every Sunday in the park with my siblings and mom, He is really cool as you. Salute to all the father like you!

  2. […] I just did a college road trip with my oldest son through New England. We explored about a dozen schools, covered much ground and bonded over the course of five days. We toured schools, ate good food and really enjoyed some quality father/son one-on-one time. It was a special trip; one that I know I won't forget and one that I hope he looks back on fondly one day. We sat in the car and covered hundreds of miles. And while the radio played and we … Read More […]

  3. can you will tell me who is really original author of this article? if you are the author i got to say you have got good thoughts

    • I am the autho of this article.
      Thank you


Leave a Reply

Categories

