Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | October 22, 2010

Writing Books for Boys

Someone once said (and it wasn’t me) that if you want to read a good book you need to write one. Because every reader knows exactly what he or she likes to read. With three teenage boys in my house (four if you include me because of the subject matter of my writing and reading material), I have become a bit of an authority on what boys like. And when you think you know what boys like then oftentimes you can actually put it there in the books they read. That’s what I’ve tried to do with my writing. From day one, I set out to write books that my boys (and hopefully many others–including a few girls) would want to read. The books I have written: Summer Sleep Away, That Same Summer, Escape from Sunday School and The Celebrities of Summer School have all been born of that idea — to write something that a boy will want to read.

When I was a kid it was books like Tom Sawyer and Lord of the Flies and the Tarzan series that captivated my imagination and kept me reading into the wee hours of the night with a flashlight under my blankets. Those are the kind of books I always aspired to write. So when a parent tells me that their boy (or girl) who does not particularly enjoy reading stayed up last night or spent the weekend finishing one of my books then I feel as though I’ve achieved what I set out to write. To me, hearing that is the ultimate reward.

Leave a Reply

Categories

