Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | February 4, 2011

Remembering My Inner Child

It’s interesting to see how a few decades can put a different spin on things. I remember back in the seventies when I was around ten years old I woke up to that wonderful news you dream about — NO SCHOOL ON ACCOUNT OF SNOW!!!!!! I jumped out of bed to discover something I’d never before seen — everything covered in ice. Everything…the trees, the lawn, the cars, the houses….everywhere you looked everything you saw was covered in a thick coating of ice. The landscape outside my bedroom window sparkled in the reflection of the sun. I threw on my coat, hat, gloves, etc and ran outside. I remember the crunch of the front lawn beneath my boots. I recall collecting icicles and twigs and leaves all covered in ice and storing them in the freezer. I was in awe. It was like a glass world out there. And, what was best, there was NO SCHOOL to enjoy it all.

Fast forward just about forty years to this morning — another ice storm. I was awoken at 5 am by the computerized call from the board of ed. that school was cancelled. My kids will be thrilled, I thought. But now came the work. Salting the driveway, chopping at the ice, popping a couple Advil for my back, trying to get the car out, skidding and just barely missing an oncoming car. Calls from tenants screaming at me why their driveways weren’t salted. Slipping on the ice and nearly cracking my head open. More Advil. Shlepping the kids around to all their friends. Taking out the dog. Mopping up the mountain of mud and water regularly being deposited at the foot of every entrance to the house. Drying the wet clothes upon the kids arrival. I think you get the point.

Where was the ten year-old in me? What happened to him? Why couldn’t I enjoy the winter wonderland that beckoned to me? I stopped, made myself a cup of tea, sat down in front of the fire and took out the paper. As I did the NY Times crossword (or at least attempted to–I’m a Monday, maybe Tuesday guy, at best), I looked outside and took in the sights. It was nice. And I enjoyed the five minutes of peace it offered.

Ofer Aronskind is the Author of adventure books for teens.

Responses

  1. Ofer, you sounded like Kevin Arnold from the “Wonder Years” a big hug for you!!!

  2. Ofer,

    You lucky thing! In the UK, the whole country comes to a stop even in an inch of snow, so we dread it to a certain extent!

    However, we did have some in November over a weekend and the memories are bliss. These are happy times!!

    Being a cool Dad involves so much more than pleasing them now. Just remember in years ahead they will tell their children that Grandad was a hoot! memories are just great!

    Best regards as always

    Joe
    http://www.howtobethebestparent.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

