Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | February 23, 2011

How I Write

I couldn’t sleep last night. I tossed and turned and at around 4:30 in the morning I decided to give up the fight and get out of bed. When I sat down in front of my laptop and opened it to the first draft of the manuscript for “This Side of the Street” I knew why I was having so much trouble sleeping. I was too excited. I had over 300 pages of unedited material and I was biting at the bit to start reading it. When I write I plow forward, always forward. Never going back, never editing, never moving things around. Just keep typing, keep adding, keep the pace and the storyline moving along.

But there is such a thrill when you’re done, when you can finally go back and begin to read over what you’ve created. That was the feeling I had early this morning as I made myself a cup of tea and sat down to begin reading “This Side of the Street”. The house was all dark, there was a chill in the air and the hot tea felt good. As I began to read there were entire sections I had nearly forgotten about. Sections I read made me cringe knowing I had a ton of rewriting to do. Other parts put a smile on my face — they weren’t bad. I read as if I were not the writer of these passages. I read with detachment. I read and I have to admit overall I enjoyed what I was reading.

There’s nothing like giving the first draft of a manuscript that first read. There is something special about it. Something pure and pristine and in the quiet early hours of the morning it seemed that much more perfect. Now…now begins the arduous task of editing. I think another cup of tea is in order.

Ofer Aronskind is the author of multiple adventure books for boys

Responses

  1. So kind of you to share your self with readers of this blog and your books. That’s what makes both so enjoyable!

  2. I very happy read your blog and your books.

    • Thank you for the kind words. Please keep an eye out for my next book and please check out my TV interviews on Youtube


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

