Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | May 10, 2011

A Good Day for Baseball

Usually I write about a crazy week of carpooling and lunch-making and running around driving my kids to a million activities and so on. But in all fairness, I must also write when a good week comes along. Last week was just that.

One of my boys lives for baseball. Little league, fantasy baseball, diehard Yankee fan, the works. But on the field he’s been in a batting slump since … well since he first picked up a bat in T-ball. Lately I’ve seen him doing push-ups, sit-ups and pull-ups trying to strengthen his body. This has been going on for a few weeks. I almost feel there should be a “Rocky” soundtrack playing in the background. The other day his team had a game and he led off the batting. He stood out there and he looked strong. First pitch he swung for the bleachers and blasted the ball into the outfield over everyone’s head (no one was expecting it). He ran for his life around those bases and made it home. An in-the-park homer. High fives all around ensued and then I got just a second of a look from him and I smiled and he smiled back.

I have no doubt the push-ups and sit-ups will be increasing in number.

Ofer Aronskind is a single dad and the author of multiple teen adventure books, he lives in Short Hills New Jersey with his three teenage sons

Responses

  1. Wow i don’t know your son yet…but I feel so proud of him.Again your writing draws me into your experience like i was there and makes me want more. You are very good at what you do 🙂 You definitely have my vote.

  2. What a beautiful story! I am so happy for him! I love when kids achieve greatness! I am smiling for him! Hope the rest of his season is outstanding!

    • Thank you for your kind words! I will pass them along to my son

  3. Best of luck


Leave a Reply

Categories

