Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | May 13, 2011

Joy of College Acceptance!

As a follow up to my last blog, my older son also had a good week last week. He had applied for a scholarship program called the Governors School. A prestigious engineering program at Rutgrers with college credit and full room and board for an entire month…FREE. He gathered up his teacher recommendations, wrote his essays, gathered up his HS transcript…put it all together and sent it in only to find out a month later that he was wait-listed. I told him what an accomplishment that in itself was. Out of thousands of applicants across the entire state they only accepted about a hundred kids and he still had a shot.

But he also had no choice but to make alternative plans for the summer in case he did not get in. Every day he checked the mail, his email, my email…hoping for an acceptance. Yesterday, while I was in the shower, I hear screaming. I cannot tell whats going on because the words are muffled by the sound of running water. I begin screaming “Whats wrong, what’s going on!!!”

My son suddenly pulls back the shower curtain and proceeds to tell me right there and then with me standing there in all my glory (NOT) that he just got accepted. And there we are, a thrilled seventeen year-old and his naked 48 year-old father jumping up and down screaming for joy.

A good week.

Tomorrow my other son has his last soccer game of the season… let’s see what happens.

Ofer Aronskind is a single father and the author of multiple adventure books for boys. He enjoys the outdoors and loves to spend time with his 3 teenage sons

Responses

  1. I love it

  2. love it

  3. Very, very cute story…congratulations to your son for his great achievement !!!

  4. Mike said,,,,REALLY????? did we need to hear the shower curtain part –He also said ” you damn stud”…haha.
    Congrats, on a great achievement. I voted again! 🙂 xoxoox Emily


Leave a Reply

Categories

