Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | May 23, 2011

Downside of a More Popular Blog

This blog contest I’ve entered has served to increase the visibility of my blog. Its raised my readership and followers. All good stuff. But with it comes pressure. Pressure on me to be entertaining, funny, to write something important, maybe have a message. The new and improved blog comes with a different kind of pressure on my three boys. These past couple of weeks I’ve enlisted them to help get out the vote. In turn, they’ve turned to their friends (facebook friends, schoolmates, etc) to rally support for my blog. Unfortunately, I’m not flying under their radar anymore. Whereas before the contest I could write freely about my boys and their various antics and accomplishments and everything in between. Now they are aware of the blog, they’re actually reading it and, what’s worse, so are some of their friends. As a teenage boy with a father writing about you, it can be awfully embarassing. And I get that.

So here’s the compromise. I will try to write insightful, interesting blogs about them and limit the embarrasing stuff to me. How’s that guys? Fair? If so, will you please now go back out there and get me the votes I’ve been asking for???

For those of you who have yet to vote, please hurry up, the contest ends at 5 PM on the 23rd (today!) Just go to Circle of Moms and click on the thumbs up next to “Dad in Real Life”

Responses

  1. congrats daddy.. i guess you have won.. our friend is in second place.. πŸ˜€

    • Than you for voting!

  2. Welcome to the Jungle! You’re correct: with high visibility comes high standards for what you publish. But it also brings great rewards and amazing community. I’m coming up on ten years writing my blog, and though I’m probably on the downswing, I was finally able to earn my living from it and peripheral projects over the last five. You’ve got a terrific start and an overwhelming support base – take off! Best of luck. πŸ™‚

    • Mindy,
      You are awesome!
      And I luv your blog too!

  3. Congrats on winning!! I’m a newbie to blogging and with 5 votes I already feel the pressure so I dunno how you do it with over 1600!!

    • Jennifer,
      Thank you.
      And I’m sure that you will get the hang of it as your blog grows

  4. Hi Ofer! Congratulations! That was a well-deserved win. Although I have to admit, you did keep me at the edge of my seat πŸ™‚

    • Thank you!

  5. Hello Ofer.

    Could you please contact me by email about your blogroll?

    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

