Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | August 23, 2011

Kids Grow Up Too Fast

I knew the day would come…I heard it from parents of older kids….I just didn’t know how unready I’d be. My older one driving, the younger ones staying out late, all of them going to bed long past my bedtime. I didn’t realize how difficult it is to fall asleep when your three boys are still out at parties, in the city, out someplace, hopping from house to house, God knows where. It’s summer, it’s their vacation, I don’t want to spoil their good time with an arbitrary curfew that ties in to my sleeping habits. But these days I just can’t keep my eyes open past eleven. I get up around six most days so by 11, 11:30 I’m starting to dose off on my Archie Bunker chair. My kids on the other hand, are waking up around noon, one o’clock. At 11 at night when I’m falling asleep, they’re just getting started…they’re just going out.

Now just try falling asleep when you know you’re kids are out there driving, being driven, partying and all the accouterments that go with it. No wonder I’m not sleeping well these days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

