Posted by: Ofer Aronskind | October 13, 2011

Being a Good Parent

I’m a firm believer in NOT sheltering my kids from the world they live in. Even when they were much younger I put on the evening news, I read out articles of interest in The New York Times. I wanted them to know about the outside world. I wanted them to realize that life wasn’t the perfect little suburban bubble they live in. The world is not all perfectly manicured soccer fields and big houses stocked with lots of good food. I wanted them to know about other countries as well as right here in this country where people are struggling, where there are homeless, where children go hungry. I did not turn off the TV or change the channel when a segment came on that might not have been suitable for kids.

Today, my kids turn on the news on their own. They often read the newspaper. They take an active interest in the world around them. They are involved in charitable organizations. They care. They think outside themselves and I’d like to think I may have had something to do with that.


Responses

  1. Raising kids to have their own inner guide takes much more work on the part of the parent. It’s so much easier to block things and censor their world, but you can only do that for awhile. Eventually, kids grow up, and they will have to face the world, and need to know how to navigate it.

    Bravo for being brave enough to realize this, and diligent enough to follow through with it. It’s not going to be easy, but it should be worth it.

  2. Just found your blog and am glad that I did! I’m newly divorce and a single parent of two that is trying to balance motherhood, career, my coaching business … and running marathons! Looking forward to learning how to balance it all from you!

    • Best of luck to you! I’m sure you will succeed with your new life!

  3. looks like you are a successful father. i believe in one thing. that is, a kid should be given freedom to express himself. you can only guide them on what to do and be sure that he will do it on his own. creativity and potential grow up inside a kid in this way.

    • I agree with you.
      Thank you for the compliment and comment

  4. Ofer,
    So glad to have found your blog. I love that you not only raise up the single parent but also nurture the child being parented. Good for you. We can only shelter children for so long and then what good have we really done for them? Not much. Thank you for your honest approach to this. I hope to have you come visit our site and look around.


Leave a comment

Categories